Holy Orders

(CCC 1536 - 1600)

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time:  thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry.  It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.   - CCC 1536

Effects of Holy Orders

  • Seals the soul with an indelible mark.

  • Empowers the man to serve the faithful by teaching, divine worship, & governance.

  • The bishop receives the fullness of Holy Orders.

  • Priests are co-workers with the bishop in service.

  • Deacons do not receive ministerial priesthood, but do enter ministry and carry out important functions.

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now